Thursday, March 21, 2019

Lit: Whiting Awards Winners announced

On the 34th anniversary of the Whiting Awards, the Whiting Foundation gives $50,000 each to ten diverse emerging writers of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and drama. The winners are honored today, March 20, 2019, at a ceremony at the New York Historical Society, with keynote by Pulitzer Prize, National Book Award, and Whiting Award winner Adam Johnson.
The Whiting Awards, established by the Whiting Foundation in 1985, remain one of the most esteemed and largest monetary gifts to emerging writers, and are based on the criteria of early-career achievement and the promise of superior literary work to come. Eight million has been awarded to 340 fiction and nonfiction writers, poets, and playwrights to date.
Kaleb Rae Candrili, Tyree Daye, Hernan Diaz, Michael R. Jackson, Therese Mailhot, Nadia Owusu, Nafissa Thompson-Spires, Merritt Tierce, Vanessa Villareal and Lauren Yee are tis year's winners.

No comments:

Post a Comment