Thursday, September 1, 2016

Literature: Nobel Odds

Since 1901, the Nobel Prize in Literature has been awarded annually to an author from any country who has, in the words from the will of Alfred Nobel, produced "in the field of literature the most outstanding work in an ideal direction". Though individual works are sometimes cited as being particularly noteworthy, here "Work" refers to an author's work as a whole. The Swedish Academy decides who, if anyone, will receive the prize in any given year. The academy announces the name of the chosen laureate in early October. It is one of the five Nobel Prizes established by the will of Alfred Nobel in 1895; the others are the Nobel Peace Prize, Nobel Prize in Chemistry, Nobel Prize in Physics, and Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine.

Nobel Prize in Literature 2015 was awarded to Svetlana Aleksijevitj.

Who wins the Nobel Prize in Literature 2016?

Odd unit: EU | UK | US
Haruki Murakami6.006.00
Joyce Carol Oates11.0011.00
Ngugi Wa Thiong'o11.0011.00
Philip Roth13.0013.00
Ismail Kadaré15.0015.00
Jon Fosse18.0018.00
Amos Oz21.0021.00
Péter Nádas21.0021.00
Adam Zagajewski26.0026.00
Doris Kareva26.0026.00
John Banville26.0026.00
Kjell Askildsen26.0026.00
Cees Nooteboom31.0031.00
Gerald Murnane31.0031.00
Jaan Kaplinski31.0031.00
Ko Un31.0031.00
László Krasznahorkai31.0031.00
Leonard Nolens31.0031.00
Olga Tokarczuk31.0031.00
Peter Handke31.0031.00
Jussi Adler-Olsen34.0034.00
Sirkka Turkka41.0041.00
Tua Forsström41.0041.00
Mircea Cartarescu51.0051.00

No comments:

Post a Comment